Prof. Dirk Uwe Sauer elected as member of acatech’s Executive Board


The members of the German Academy of Science and Engineering, aka acatech, elected three new members into their Executive Board in mid-October. Among them is Prof. Dirk Uwe Sauer. He heads the Chair of Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage Systems at the Institute of Power Electronics and Electrical Drives of RWTH Aachen University. Additionally, he is director of the ENERGY section of the Jülich Aachen Research Alliance (JARA) since 2014 and he is a member of acatech since 2015.

The Executive Board controls the acatech and represents it externally. Since the election on October 16, the Board consists of17 members from different fields of science.

Under the auspices of the Federal President, the Academy of Science and Engineering promotes the exchange between science, industry, and society. Since 2002, the Academy has addressed itself to providing independent, fact-based and public welfare-oriented advice to politics and society concerning questions of technological and techno-political future. Acatech comprises 500 members who are experts from different research fields such as engineering and natural sciences, medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.

As chairman of the board and speaker, Prof. Sauer has been supervising the Academies‘ project "Energy Systems of the Future" (ESYS) since last year. In 2013, acatech joined forces with the Leopoldina and the Akademienunion ESYS to answer the important questions concerning the „Energiewende“. More than 120 experts from science and research focus on the development of courses of action for implementing a secure, affordable, and sustainable energy supply.

Further information about the project ESYS can be found here:

Press release of the acatech can be found here: