RWTH Innovation Award 2017

Innovation Award Copyright: © ISEA

On January 29, 2018, the TorqueWerk start-up project was awarded the 1st place of the Innovation Award 2017 of RWTH Aachen University. The prize is awarded annually to three projects that contribute particularly to the appeal of the Aachen region as an innovation location.


The concept of segmented torque motors based on synchronous reluctance machines developed by Tobias Berthold, Jan-Dirk Reimers, Claude Weiss and Tobias Lange convinced the jury. The segmentation of the motors in modules enables a scaling of the torque and the integration of the drive in geometrically difficult installation spaces. In this way, application-adapted machines with a large number of variants can be set up and effectively mass produced. At present, the team is looking for pilot applications from the single motor to the series in order to open up further fields of application.


External Links