STAWAG Dissertation Awards for three ISEA researchers

  STAWAG Dissertation Awards for three ISEA researchers Copyright: © Fakultät 6/RWTH Aachen

Dr. Johannes Voss, Dr. Shenghui Cui and Dr. Jingxin Hu received jointly the STAWAG 2019 Best Dissertation Award at the “Faculty Day of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology”, which took place last Nov. 29. With this Award, STAWAG, an Aachen energy utility company, recognizes outstanding doctoral dissertations.

In the frame of the BMBF Research Campus Flexible Electrical Networks (FEN), all three scientists worked on various key components that enable their vision to realize a flexible, digitally controlled and monitored cellular electrical DC network structure. In his dissertation, Dr. Cui (in center) focuses on the cost-effective means for coupling of medium-voltage and high-voltage DC grids. Dr. Voss (2nd from left) mainly deals with high-power medium-voltage dc transformers for dc grid interconnections. Dr. Hu’s dissertation focused on the capability of distributed generation plants to ride through serious voltage sags in the dc networks without disconnecting from the network, which enables immediately grid restoration after fault clearance.

The Awardees received their awards from Dr. Christian Becker, Member-of-the-Board STAWAG (2nd from right). The Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology was represented by Dean Prof. Jens-Rainer Ohm (left). Prof. De Doncker accepted the Award on behalf of Dr. Hu, who was not able to join the award ceremony.